If you are one of the many Uber drivers in the greater Denver metropolitan area, you probably became one to earn either a little extra income or to support yourself solely. But what happens if you get into an auto accident while driving for Uber? Your car may need extensive repairs or may need to be replaced. You might even have medical bills that are piling up, but now you can't drive to earn the money that could have covered them.
There are Colorado laws regarding auto insurance and coverage, and there are specific laws regarding Uber drivers. The attorneys at accidentdenver.com have represented Uber drivers when they have been in an accident. We can help you file your claim, deal with Uber and their insurance company, and fight to get you the money to replace your car and pay your medical bills. Contact us today for a free consultation.
Uber Driver Insurance Coverage in an Accident
There are two umbrellas of coverage for Uber drivers in Colorado. There are insurance coverage laws related specifically to Transportation Network Companies (TNC) like Uber, and then there is your own insurance coverage. Uber has different coverage windows for when an Uber driver has a passenger, is waiting to get a ride-match, and when the driver is on their own time.
Colorado laws require all drivers to have minimum liability insurance, and you had to provide proof of this insurance to Uber before you could start driving for them. Your personal minimum liability insurance applies when you have not yet accepted a ride or have already finished a ride. The mandatory minimum coverage required for drivers in Colorado includes:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person in an accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident; and
- $15,000 for property damage in any one accident.
Once you activate the Uber app active to search for a rider and before you pick up a rider, a contingent coverage under Uber applies. Under Colorado's TNC laws, Uber must provide coverage over the minimum individual liability. Once you indicate you are available for a ride but you have not yet accepted a ride request, Uber coverage must provide a minimum of:
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per person in an accident; and
- $100,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident
Uber's highest level of liability coverage applies once you have accepted a ride request, are on the way to pick up a passenger or have the passenger in your vehicle. At that time, Uber's policy coverage is for up to $1 million.
What if you are at fault for an Uber accident?
Fault in a car accident is generally based on negligence. The negligent driver may be liable for damages caused by their negligence, such as violating traffic laws or failing to drive in a reasonably safe manner.
If you get into an accident as an Uber driver and are found to have been at fault, you still will have coverage through Uber under two conditions:
(1) You had accepted a ride request or had a passenger in your car when you got into the accident. Uber's coverage will cover your liability to a third-party for up to $1 million.
(2) If you were online looking for a ride but hadn't accepted one yet and you cause an accident, you're insured for liability to a third party by Uber. Coverage is at least $50,000 in injury liability per person, $100,000 in total liability per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability per accident.
Let Your Denver Accident Attorney Deal With Uber
The best thing you can do to protect yourself if you get into an accident as an Uber driver is to call the attorneys at accidentdenver.com. We have successfully represented Uber drivers in the greater Denver area and we can help you file claims with Uber and your own insurance company, if necessary. Contact us today for a free consultation.