Contact Us for a Free Consultation 303-642-8888

Rideshare Accident FAQ

Anyone involved in a car accident may have a lot of questions about the process, including filing a claim, whether to contact a lawyer, and how to handle the insurance company. For an accident involving a rideshare driver, there may be different questions that can be harder to answer. This page has some of the frequently asked questions for people involved in an accident with Lyft, Uber, or other rideshare companies in Colorado. 

The attorneys at can investigate your accident, deal with the rideshare and insurance company, and fight to get you the maximum compensation after a rideshare accident. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Frequently Asked Questions About Rideshare Accidents in Colorado

After reviewing this information, if you have any other questions, contact your Colorado rideshare accident lawyer about your options. 

Do Uber drivers and Lyft drivers have special insurance?

Yes. Uber and Lyft are subject to insurance requirements in Colorado under the Transportation Network Company Act. However, the specific insurance requirements depend on the driver's status at the time of the accident. The highest coverage rates apply during the “prearranged ride.” 

  • No App Status - Driver's personal insurance coverage applies. 
  • On Duty But Waiting for a Ride Status - Requires contingent liability insurance of double the standard mandatory minimum coverage
  • Prearranged Ride Status - After a driver has accepted a requested ride through the app until the rider departs from the vehicle, Uber or Lyft's $1 million per occurrence coverage applies.

For more information, see our pages: 

How much is my rideshare claim worth?

The value of your rideshare accident claim depends on a number of factors, including total amount of damages, fault of the driver, and fault of the rideshare company. If there is a clear case that the other driver caused the accident, there may be a stronger case for negotiating the maximum damages or taking the case to trial. 

Generally, if another driver is at fault for causing the accident, the other driver is liable for all damages. Damages in a car accident can include: 

  • Cost of vehicle repair or replacement,
  • Medical treatment,
  • Continuing medical treatment,
  • Loss of income from not being able to work, 
  • Loss of income potential from permanent injury, 
  • Pain and suffering, 
  • Emotional distress, and
  • Loss of enjoyment of life.

The more severe and extensive the damage, the greater the claim may be worth. An accident with a rideshare driver involving serious or permanent injuries can be worth more than $1 million. 

What should I do after a Lyft accident or Uber accident? 

After a Lyft accident or Uber accident, the first step is to address any injuries. Call 9-1-1 if you need medical help. Even if it is not an emergency, you should seek out medical care to address any possible injuries. Some injuries may be difficult to detect immediately after the accident. 

You may also be required to call the police to report the accident if anyone is injured or there is property damage. 

The next step involves exchanging insurance and contact information with the others involved. Even if the other driver does not admit they are driving for Lyft or Uber, take note if you see a rideshare logo on the car. You may also want to gather evidence like photos or video of the accident scene and damage. 

After an accident, you are generally required to contact your insurance company to report the accident. However, beware when the other driver's insurance company may also try and contact you. The easiest way to deal with the insurance company is just to refer them to your lawyer. 

If you suffered an injury in the accident, you should talk to an attorney about your rights. Your lawyer can help you avoid taking a cheap settlement offer that doesn't cover your damages. Your lawyer can also deal with the insurance company so you don't have to. Your lawyer can also fight to get you the maximum compensation after an accident. 

For more information, see our pages: 

Are autonomous vehicles allowed for ridesharing in Colorado?

Autonomous vehicles are an evolving situation in Colorado, the U.S., and around the world. There are some semi-autonomous vehicles already on the road, like Tesla. Other vehicles and autonomous vehicle programs are being tested in Colorado. For example, Denver RTD launched an autonomous vehicle shuttle operating from the Peña and 61st Street commuter rail station, operating 4 stops along a loop. 

Autonomous vehicles in Colorado and their use in ridesharing will be changing rapidly over the coming years. If you have any questions about an autonomous vehicle accident, contact your attorney to understand your rights and options. 

How do I stay safe while using Lyft or Uber?

It is important to understand the risks involved in getting into a Lyft or Uber driver's vehicle without knowing anything about the person. Some of the risks can be mitigated by taking action before, during, and after the ride. If something does happen and you are injured or assaulted during or after an Uber or Lyft ride, you should be compensated for your losses. 

Denver Rideshare Accident Questions and Answers

If you have any questions about a rideshare accident in Colorado, you can consult with an experienced Denver auto accident lawyer. Please do not hesitate to contact today at 303-642-8888 for a free consultation. We are here waiting for you.