Most people end up paying for auto insurance for years without ever making a claim. This makes it tempting for drivers to buy only the bare minimum. Unfortunately, if you do get into an accident, you may realize your insurance is not enough to cover your injuries. Even if insurance is supposed to cover the accident, injury victims often find they have to battle with the insurance company to receive payment for damages.
If the insurance company is delaying payment or only offering a small settlement, you may want to contact an experienced Colorado auto accident lawyer. Your personal injury attorney knows how to deal with the insurance company to get the payment you deserve. If you have questions about getting help after an accident in Colorado, talk to an experienced Denver accident lawyer for advice.
Med Pay Insurance
Medical payment coverage is an optional part of insurance coverage in Colorado. Med pay coverage is not mandatory but drivers in Colorado may need to opt out when getting insurance coverage. Med pay insurance covers medical care for the driver and passengers in an injury accident. These types of claims are not generally covered by the minimum insurance requirements.
In Colorado, the insurance minimum that all drivers need to carry is known as 25/50/15. In an accident where the driver is at fault, the minimum insurance covers:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to any one person in an accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident; and
- $15,000 for property damage in any one accident.
However, this is supposed to apply to other people in an accident. If the driver causes the accident and suffers an injury, bodily injury will not generally cover their own injuries. The driver may have to pay out of pocket for medical treatment, emergency care, surgery, physical therapy, and other medical care. Even if the driver has medical insurance, the deductibles and coverage limits may leave the driver with expensive medical bills.
Colorado Med Pay Coverage
Under Colorado Revised Statutes § 10-4-635, auto insurance providers in Colorado are required to offer, “medical payments with benefits of five thousand dollars for bodily injury, sickness, or disease resulting from the ownership, maintenance, or use of the motor vehicle.”
Medical care includes all medically necessary and accident-related health care and rehabilitation services to a person injured in an automobile accident. Med pay coverage applies to the insured or a passenger who sustains bodily injury out of the use of the insured's motor vehicle. Med pay may also protect the insured if they are hit by a car as a pedestrian or cyclist.
The Insurance Company Won't Pay
Even if you do have coverage or the accident was caused by another driver, it does not mean the insurance company will happily cut you a check. The insurance companies use a lot of tactics to reduce settlement offers or deny coverage. Long delays and frustration with the insurance company may make the injury victim just take whatever they can get. Unfortunately, as soon as you accept the settlement, you may be giving up your legal rights for more.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment