Ride-sharing companies like Uber and Lyft are incredibly popular around Denver. Many local residents and visitors alike use Uber to get around the city, avoiding the hassles of parking and the dangers of impaired driving. With so many Ubers on the road, there has been an increase in car accidents involving Uber drivers.
Colorado has tried to put in place regulations to deal with accidents involving Uber drivers. However, the ride-share drivers may not be sure how to deal with an accident or give other drivers misinformation about handling a claim. Injury victims may get the runaround from Uber, the Uber driver, or the insurance company when trying to get compensation for damages.
The attorneys at accidentdenver.com have represented drivers and passengers injured in accidents with an Uber driver in Colorado. Contact us today for a free consultation.
What Do I Do If I'm Hit by an Uber Driver
There are a lot of frequently asked questions (FAQs) from drivers, passengers, and bystanders involved in an accident with an Uber driver. Questions include:
- Who was at fault for the Uber accident?
- Does Uber pay for my damages or the driver?
- How long do I have to file a claim after an accident with an Uber driver?
Colorado passed laws in 2014 specifically to cover companies like Uber and Lyft. These laws apply to Transportation Network Companies (TNCs) that are operating in Colorado. However, because these laws are relatively new, there are still some situations where it is not clear what rules apply and when during an accident.
Uber Driver Insurance Coverage in an Accident
Uber insurance coverage is regulated, in part, by Colorado driving laws, Colorado laws specific to TNCs, and Uber's insurance coverage policies. Uber has different insurance coverage policies when an Uber driver has a passenger, is waiting to get a ride-match, and when the driver is on their own time.
Colorado laws require all drivers to have minimum liability insurance. This applies when an Uber driver has not yet accepted a ride or has already finished a ride. The mandatory minimum coverage required for drivers in Colorado includes:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to any one person in an accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident; and
- $15,000 for property damage in any one accident.
There is a point between making the app active and before picking up a rider when a contingent coverage applies. Under Colorado's TNC laws, Uber must provide coverage over the minimum individual liability. Once the TNC driver indicates they are available for a ride but has not yet accepted a ride request, Uber coverage must provide a minimum of:
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to any one person in an accident; and
- $100,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident
An Uber driver's highest level of liability coverage applies once the driver accepts a ride request, is on the way to pick up the passenger, or has the passenger in the vehicle. At this time, Uber's policy coverage is for up to $1 million.
How to Report an Uber Accident
Under Colorado law, drivers are required to report an accident that involves property damage or injury. If the police respond to the scene, the officer may gather the information at the scene of the accident and file an accident report. If the police are not called to the scene of the accident, the driver can file an accident report online.
A driver's insurance policy generally requires immediately reporting any accident. Drivers injured in an accident with an Uber driver should contact their insurance company to report the accident.
Uber drivers are required to report an accident to the company. The company may also ask any non-passengers involved in an accident to fill out their Uber accident form. However, be cautious before talking to Uber or Uber's insurance company. The insurance company may be trying to avoid liability for the accident and try and get you to say something they can use against you.
The simplest way to deal with an Uber accident is to contact an experienced Denver auto accident attorney. The attorneys at accidentdenver.com will be able to deal with Uber and Uber's insurance company so you don't have to. Your attorney will also advise you of your rights and options in filing a claim against Uber so you get the maximum compensation.
Statute of Limitations for Accidents with an Uber Driver
The statute of limitations for most car accident injury claims in Colorado is three years. A driver, passenger, or bystanders generally has three years from the date of the accident to file a claim against Uber or the Uber driver. However, the statute of limitations for a car accident may be longer or shorter in certain circumstances. You should contact your Denver accident attorney as soon as possible after a crash to make sure your claim is filed on time.
Uber Driver Selection and Training
Uber has basic requirements for Uber drivers and Uber vehicles. Generally, in order to drive for Uber, the driver has to:
- Pass a vehicle inspection,
- Show a valid license, registration, and vehicle insurance,
- Undergo a medical check-up, and
- Undergo a background check.
Drivers do not have to pass a driving test beyond what the driver had to do to get a Colorado driver's license in the first place. Drivers also do not have to go through any specialized training to drive for Uber. The limited training is for drivers to understand how to use the Uber app.
There are restrictions for drivers, including company policies and laws that prohibit drivers from operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs but little to no monitoring of driver activity.
Additionally, while drivers in Colorado are prohibited from using phones while driving, Uber drivers are required to interact with their phones before picking up a ride, when navigating a ride, and to finish the ride. Most people who have taken an Uber ride regularly see their driver interact with their phone during the ride, which could place drivers and passengers in danger.
Denver Uber Accident Injury Lawyers
The attorneys at accidentdenver.com have successfully represented their clients who were involved in accidents caused by Uber drivers or other ride-share operators. Our attorneys understand how the insurance companies operate and will fight to get the maximum compensation available for your injuries. Contact us today for a free consultation.